FIA Approved And Confirmed i1 Super Series Calendar For 2012

The calendar of the i1 Super Series was provisional as I had mentioned in my earlier post (Read: Racing calendar of the Indian Racing League) and the debut season calendar was probably going to be a tough one to get confirmation on, which was covered in this post ‘ i1 Super Series debut season calendar gone for a toss’.

However, the Indian Racing League and the i1 Super Series announced their driver line-up in Abu Dhabi today. What they also announced was their debut season calendar, which was finally approved by the FIA and thankfully this one included the India’s only Formula1 circuit, the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) as one of the venues. It was reported earlier in November that the BIC might not be a possible option after the circuit was shut for maintenance.

The first ever pre-season i1 Super Series test will be held at the Yas Marina Circuit tomorrow. (Read post: i1 Super Series Pre Season Test To Be Held At The Yas Marina In Abu Dhabi)

The final dates which you should mark in your calendar for 2012 are:

Round 1

Date: 21st / 22nd January 2012

Venue: Sepang, Malaysia

Round 2

Date: 3rd / 4th February 2012

Venue: Sakhir, Bahrain

Round 3

Date: 10th / 11th February 2012

Venue: Losail, Qatar

Round 4

Date: 25th / 26th February 2012

Venue: Buddh International Circuit, Delhi

Round 5

Date: 9th / 10th March 2012

Venue: Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi

Hear our first-ever i1 Super Series Podcast

For those new to motorsport and the concept of i1 Super Series, do read my introductory piece here – Indian Racing League is launched, welcome the i1 Super Series

Most read i1 Super Series topic on my blog: Should Narain Karthikeyan and Karun Chandhok drive in the i1 Super Series

Kunal Shah is an FIA-accredited Formula 1 journalist who has been reporting on Formula 1 for nearly two decades. He worked with the Force India Formula 1 Team for 6 seasons in Marketing, Sponsorship and Commercial roles. As a former single-seater racer, he was responsible for Force India's grassroots talent program, One from a Billion Hunt. Presently, he co-writes a regular Formula 1 column for Firstpost, speaks on Inside Line F1 Podcast & Pits to Podium and produces broadcast/OTT content for NENT Group (Viasport & Viaplay).

Leave a reply:

Site Footer

Sliding Sidebar

Open chat
Let's Talk Formula 1
Happy to share my passion for Formula 1 with you. If you have specific queries about the sport, feel free to ping me.

In the meanwhile, I welcome you to subscribe to the Inside Line F1 Podcast for insightful conversations around Formula 1. We release an episode every week.